print logo
Main Content Anchor

HR Announcements

​Recent Announcements

For a complete list of all policies, please visit our Online HR Manual.

 

 

<p>​Effective October 1, 2022, the following mass transit and vanpool subsidy increases apply to eligible employees, including employees headquartered out of state, in Bargaining Units 2 (R02), 9 (R09), and 18 (R18) and related excluded employees designated S02, M02, S09, M09, S18, and M18:</p><p></p><ul><li>Public transit (mass transit) passes</li></ul><p></p><ul><ul><li>100 percent discount on public transit passes sold by state agencies, up to the monthly exclusion amount provided by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).  </li><li>100 percent reimbursement on public transit passes purchased by state employees, up to the monthly exclusion amount provided by the IRS.<br></li></ul></ul><ul><li>Vanpool drivers and rider<span style="font-size:1em;">s</span></li><ul><li>​100 percent reimbursement on the monthly fee, up to the monthly exclusion amount provided by the IRS.</li></ul></ul><p></p><p> For 2022, the maximum monthly exclusion amount provided by the IRS is $280.<br> <br>The combined maximum allowable monthly exclusion amount for employees who are eligible to claim both mass transit and vanpool shall not exceed the combined IRS maximum monthly exclusion amount.<br> <br>California Code of Regulations<a href="https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IF4B90AD05D9711E4A9828577DD5F1BF2?originationContext=Search+Result&listSource=Search&viewType=FullText&navigationPath=Search/v3/search/results/navigation/i0ad62d2e00000164ae837fd14013dc64?startIndex%3d1%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26contextData%3d%28sc.Default%29&rank=1&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=%28sc.Search%29&t_T2=599.936&t_S1=CA+ADC+s" target="_blank"> section 599.936 (Transit and Vanpool Incentives – Excluded Employees)</a> provides mass transit and vanpool commute language for excluded employees. The <a href="/state-hr-professionals/Pages/bargaining-contracts.aspx" target="_blank">MO​Us</a> provide mass transit and vanpool commute language for represented employees. CalHR’s <a href="/employees/Pages/Commute-Program.aspx" target="_blank">Commute Programs page</a> and <a href="/employees/Pages/mass-transit-and-vanpool-commute-program-frequently-asked-questions.aspx" target="_blank">Frequently Asked Questions page</a>​ provide general information. ​</p>Mass Transit and Vanpool Commute Program – Increased Subsidies for Employees in Bargaining Units 2, 9, and 18 and Related Excluded Employees9/29/2022 7:00:00 AM
<p>Assembly Bill 1887 prohibits state agencies from requiring any of its employees, officers or members to travel to, or approving a request for state-funded or state-sponsored travel to, any state that has enacted discriminatory laws or practices on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression, subject to certain exceptions.<br> <br>Effective August 19, 2022, the Attorney General added Georgia to the restricted travel list.<br>To view the entire list of banned states, visit the <a href="https://oag.ca.gov/ab1887" title="California Attorney General's website">California Attorney General's website</a>​.<br><br>Previously approved discretionary travel to Georgia must be cancelled. All mission critical travel to banned states must be resubmitted to Department Directors and Agency Secretaries (or their designees) to ensure they meet the exception criteria. New mission critical trips not already submitted within an approved out-of-state travel blanket will require final approval from the Governor's Office through the individual trip request process.<br> <br>For additional information regarding AB 1887 and out-of-state travel, please review HR Manual section<a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2201"> 2201 – Travel and Relocation Policy​</a>.​<br></p>The Attorney General Added Georgia to the Restricted Travel List for Out-of-State Travel8/29/2022 7:00:00 AM
<p>Effective August 2, 2022, the following mass transit and vanpool subsidy increases apply to eligible employees, including employees headquartered out of state, in Bargaining Unit 13 and related excluded employees designated S13:<br><ul><li>Public transit (mass transit) passes</li><ul><li>100 percent discount on public transit passes sold by state agencies, up to the monthly exclusion amount provided by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).  </li><li>100 percent reimbursement on public transit passes purchased by state employees, up to the monthly exclusion amount provided by the IRS.</li></ul><li>Vanpool drivers and riders</li><ul><li>100 percent reimbursement on the monthly fee, up to the monthly exclusion amount provided by the IRS.</li></ul></ul> <br>For 2022, the maximum monthly exclusion amount provided by the IRS is $280.<br> <br>The combined maximum allowable monthly exclusion amount for employees who are eligible to claim both mass transit and vanpool shall not exceed the combined IRS maximum monthly exclusion amount.<br> <br>California Code of Regulations section 599.936 (<a href="https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IF4B90AD05D9711E4A9828577DD5F1BF2?originationContext=Search+Result&listSource=Search&viewType=FullText&navigationPath=Search/v3/search/results/navigation/i0ad62d2e00000164ae837fd14013dc64?startIndex%3d1%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26contextData%3d%28sc.Default%29&rank=1&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=%28sc.Search%29&t_T2=599.936&t_S1=CA+ADC+s" title="View § 599.936. Transit and Vanpool Incentives - Excluded Employees.">Transit and Vanpool Incentives – Excluded Employees</a>) provides mass transit and vanpool commute language for excluded employees. The <a href="/state-hr-professionals/Pages/bargaining-contracts.aspx" title="View MOUs">MOUs</a> provide mass transit and vanpool commute language for represented employees. </p><p>CalHR’s <a href="/employees/Pages/Commute-Program.aspx" title="View Commute Programs webpage">Commute Programs page</a> and <a href="/employees/Pages/mass-transit-and-vanpool-commute-program-frequently-asked-questions.aspx" title="View FAQ webpage">Frequently Asked Questions page​</a> provide general information.​</p>Mass Transit and Vanpool Commute Program – Increased Subsidies for Employees in Bargaining Unit 13 and Related Excluded Employees Designated S137/28/2022 7:00:00 AM
<p>Effective August 1, 2022, there will no longer be a three-year commitment for the dental cash option. Once enrolled in the cash option in lieu of dental benefits, the employee will no longer be prohibited from reenrolling in a state-sponsored dental plan for three plan years. Employees who are currently enrolled in the dental cash option may enroll in a state sponsored dental plan during the next open enrollment period or due to a permitting event.<br>​​</p>Removal of Dental Cash Option Three-Year Commitment7/21/2022 7:00:00 AM
<p>Excess lodging rate requests are required if the requested lodging rate is more than the state rate. All excess lodging rate requests for amounts above the delegated amount of $250 per night continue to require CalHR approval in advance. Departments shall continue to follow their current processes for completing and submitting excess lodging rate requests to CalHR.<br></p><p>General Reminders<br></p><ul><li>​Departments shall review whether the requested lodging is in the best interest of the state before submitting requests to CalHR. All moderately priced lodging options are to be considered in order to determine the lodging that is in the best interest of the state. If an employee’s preferred hotel chain is not the lodging that is in the best interest of the state, then the lodging that is in the best interest of the state shall be selected.</li><li>Moderately priced lodging may include 2- and 3-star hotels in Concur.</li><li>Per <a href="https://www.dgs.ca.gov/Resources/ManagementMemos" title="DGS Management Memo 14-03" target="_blank">DGS Management Memo 14-03</a>, all travel is to be booked through <a href="https://www.caltravelstore.com/" title="CalTravelStore">CalTravelStore</a>/<a href="https://www.concursolutions.com/nui/signin" title="Concur​">Concur​</a>. It is CalHR’s understanding from DGS that conference rates and short-term rentals are allowable exceptions to booking lodging via CalTravelStore/Concur​. Reasonable accommodations may also be allowable exceptions. For additional questions regarding the requirement to book travel via CalTravelStore/Concur, please contact DGS’s Statewide Travel Program at <a href="mailto:statewidetravelprogram@dgs.ca.gov" title="statewidetravelprogram@dgs.ca.gov" target="_blank">statewidetravelprogram@dgs.ca.gov​</a>.<br></li><li>Lodging booked outside of Concur due to an allowable exception (such as a conference rate) must be clearly explained in the “justification for alternate booking arrangement” section of the <a href="https://www.documents.dgs.ca.gov/dgs/fmc/pdf/std255c.pdf" title="Excess Lodging Rate Request Form (STD 255C)" target="_blank">Excess Lodging Rate Request Form (STD 255C)</a>.</li><li>The three required comparison quotes must clearly include the requested travel dates (such as a Concur printout or screenshot).</li><li>“Headquarters City” refers to the employee’s headquarters city.</li><li>The current <a href="https://www.documents.dgs.ca.gov/dgs/fmc/pdf/std255c.pdf" target="_blank">Excess Lodging Rate Request Form (STD 255C) </a>has been available since October 2019. As noted in CalHR’s July 11, 2019, HR Announcement, CalHR will not accept requests submitted on outdated versions of the STD 255C.</li><li>Only submit completed forms to CalHR for review. Please include all department contact information and approval signatures.</li><li>State departments are prohibited from requiring any of their employees, officers or members to travel to, or approving a request for state-funded or state-sponsored travel to, any state that has enacted discriminatory laws or practices on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression, subject to certain exceptions. To view the list of banned states, visit the <a href="https://oag.ca.gov/ab1887" target="_blank">California Attorney General's website</a>.</li><li>For rank-and-file employees, departments should review applicable <a href="/state-hr-professionals/Pages/bargaining-contracts.aspx" target="_blank">Memoranda of Understanding</a> for specific language governing travel.<br></li></ul>After-the-Fact Requests<br><ul><li>​All after-the-fact requests must be submitted to CalHR with three comparison quotes for the requested travel dates (if available) along with an explanation for the late submission.</li><li>CalHR reviews after-the-fact requests on a case-by-case basis.<br></li></ul>Annual Reports for Delegated Excess Lodging Rate Requests<br><ul><li>The reporting period for annual reports is July 1 – June 30 of each year. All departments who have approved delegated excess lodging rate requests are required to submit their annual reports to <a href="mailto:travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov" title="travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov" target="_blank">travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov</a> by August 31. Each department’s report must include all approved delegated requests. Please include department contact information in the submission email.</li><li>An updated Excel template for annual reports is now available in the “Forms” section of HR Manual section <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2201" title="2201- Travel and Relocation Policy" target="_blank">2201- Travel and Relocation Policy</a>.<br></li></ul>Related HR Manual Policy: <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2201" title="2201- Travel and Relocation Policy​" target="_blank">2201- Travel and Relocation Policy​​</a><p></p>Excess Lodging Rate Requests and Annual Reports - Reminders7/20/2022 7:00:00 AM
<p>Assembly Bill 1887 prohibits state agencies from requiring any of its employees, officers or members to travel to, or approving a request for state-funded or state-sponsored travel to, any state that has enacted discriminatory laws or practices on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression, subject to certain exceptions.<br> <br>On June 30, 2022, the Attorney General added the following four states to the restricted travel list with the following effective dates:<br><ul><li>Arizona – Effective September 28, 2022</li><li>Indiana – Effective July 1, 2022</li><li>Louisiana – Effective August 1, 2022</li><li>Utah – Effective July 1, 2022</li></ul>To view the entire list of banned states, visit the <a href="https://oag.ca.gov/ab1887" title="California Attorney General's website">California Attorney General's website</a>​.<br><br>Previously approved discretionary travel to these states must be cancelled. All mission critical travel to banned states must be resubmitted to Department Directors and Agency Secretaries (or their designees) to ensure they meet the exception criteria. New mission critical trips not already submitted within an approved out-of-state travel blanket will require final approval from the Governor's Office through the individual trip request process.<br> <br>For additional information regarding AB 1887 and out-of-state travel, please review HR Manual section <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2201" title="2201 – Travel and Relocation Policy">2201 – Travel and Relocation Policy​</a>.​​</p>The Attorney General Adds Four States to the Restricted Travel List for Out-of-State Travel7/20/2022 7:00:00 AM
<p>Effective July 1, 2022, for the final six months of 2022, the <a href="/employees/Pages/travel-reimbursements.aspx">private aircraft mileage reimbursement rate</a> for all state employees is $1.81 cents per statute mile.<br><br></p><p>Related HR Manual Policy:<a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2202"> 2202 - Mileage Reimbursement​</a>​</p>2022 Updated Mileage Reimbursement Rates for Use of Private Aircraft7/20/2022 7:00:00 AM
<p>Effective July 1, 2022, for the final six months of 2022, the <a href="/employees/Pages/travel-reimbursements.aspx" title="personal vehicle mileage reimbursement rate">personal vehicle mileage reimbursement rate</a> for all state employees is 62.5 cents per mile.</p><p><br>The relocation/moving mileage reimbursement rate for all current state employees and new-hires to state service is 22 cents per mile.<br></p><p><br>Related HR Manual Policy: <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2202" title=" 2202 - Mileage Reimbursement">2202 - Mileage Reimbursement​</a>​</p>2022 Updated Mileage Reimbursement Rates for Use of Personal Vehicle6/30/2022 7:00:00 AM
<p>​​CalHR is extending the open enrollment period until <strong style="text-decoration:underline;">May 13, 2022</strong> for employees to submit forms to their Human Resource Office.  Departments will have until May 20th to submit documents to SCO. We encourage departments to submit documents to SCO by May 15 to ensure processing is completed on time. </p><p><br>The current Improving Affordability and Access to Healthcare payment of $260 will expire after the June 2022 pay period for all SEIU Local 1000 represented employees and related excluded employees who are <strong><em>NOT</em></strong> enrolled in a state-sponsored CalPERS health plan. A Special Open Enrollment is currently being held for eligible employees to enroll into the FlexElect or CoBen cash option in lieu of health and/or dental benefits.</p><p><br>For information on the FlexElect or CoBen cash option benefit please visit the<a href="https://calhr.benefitsprograms.info/" title="benefits website​." target="_blank"> benefits website​</a>.​</p>Special Open Enrollment for FlexElect and CoBen Cash Options5/3/2022 7:00:00 AM
<p>The current Improving Affordability and Access to Healthcare payment of $260 will expire after the June 2022 pay period for all SEIU Local 1000 represented employees and related excluded employees who are <em><strong>NOT</strong></em> enrolled in a state-sponsored CalPERS health plan. A Special Open Enrollment will be held from April 1 through April 30, 2022, for eligible employees to enroll into the FlexElect or CoBen cash option in lieu of health and/or dental benefits.<br> <br>It is important that state personnel offices provide this <a href="https://calhr.benefitsprograms.info/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/2022-Special-OE-Employee-Email.pdf" title="Employee announcement" target="_blank">employee announcement</a> to all employees.<br> <br>Detailed information for state personnel offices, including specific instructions regarding distribution of the employee announcement and submission of enrollment forms during the Special Open Enrollment, are contained in this <a href="https://calhr.benefitsprograms.info/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/Special-OE-Memo-for-HR-Professionals.pdf" title="Memorandum to departmental personnel offices" target="_blank">memorandum to departmental personnel offices</a>.<br> <br>For information on the FlexElect or CoBen cash option benefit please visit the <a href="https://calhr.benefitsprograms.info/" title="Benefits website" target="_blank">benefits website​</a>.<br>​</p>Special Open Enrollment for FlexElect and CoBen Cash Options3/15/2022 7:00:00 AM
<p>​In compliance with Government Code Section 8310.9 (Assembly Bill 532 - 2015), the State Employee Race/Ethnicity Questionnaire (CalHR 1070 form) has been updated so that employees may identify themselves as being one or more races/ethnicities. Please use the new form beginning March 7, 2022. A concurrent notice from the State Controller’s Office provides technical instructions to Personnel staff.<br> <br>Please note that if an employee chooses not to identify their race/ethnicity, visual identification is required by Title 29, Code of Federal Regulations section 1602.30 to meet Equal Employment Opportunity Commission EEO-4 reporting requirements. The information collected via this form will be used for statistical analysis as required under Government Code Sections 19792 subdivisions (h) and (i). </p>Changes to CalHR-1070 Form3/7/2022 8:00:00 AM
<p>Effective January 1, 2022, the <a href="/employees/Pages/travel-reimbursements.aspx" title="View the personal vehicle mileage reimbursement rates">personal vehicle mileage reimbursement</a> rate for all state employees is 58.5 cents per mile.</p><p><span style="font-size:1em;">The relocation/moving mileage rei</span><span style="font-size:1em;">mbursement rate for all curre</span><span style="font-size:1em;">nt state employees and new-hires to state service is 18 cents per mile.</span><br></p><p>Related HR Manual Policy: <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2202" title="View 2202 Mileage Reimbursement">2202 - Mileage Reimbursement​</a><br>​</p>2022 Mileage Reimbursement Rates for Use of Personal Vehicle12/31/2021 8:00:00 AM
<p>For 2022, the monthly limit for a <a href="/employees/Pages/pre-tax-parking-reimbursement-account-program-.aspx" title="Link to: Third Party Pre-Tax Parking Reimbursement Account Program">Third Party Pre-Tax Parking Reimbursement Account Program</a>​ deduction from an employee's income to pay for qualified parking will be $280. This amount is an increase of $10 over the limit of $270 in effect for the year 2021.​</p>2022 Monthly Deduction Amount for the Third Party Pre-Tax Parking Reimbursement Account Program12/16/2021 8:00:00 AM
<p>Effective May 1, 2018, CalHR implemented the Bicycle Commuter Program (Program). Through the Program, the State of California voluntarily provides a taxable benefit to eligible state employees. The Program encourages employees to consider bicycle commuting as a means of active transportation.<br> <br>As a reminder, the HR Manual <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/1425" title="Link to: section 1425 – Bicycle Commuter Program " target="_blank">section 1425 – Bicycle Commuter Program</a> requires <strong>non-CalATERS departments</strong> to complete and electronically submit the <a href="/Documents/Bicycle-Commuter-Benefit-Program-Report-Template.xlsx" title="Link to: Bicycle Commuter Benefit Program Repor" target="_blank">Bicycle Commuter Benefit Program Report</a> for the previous calendar year to CalHR (<a href="mailto:Travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov" title="Link to: Travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov" target="_blank">Travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov​</a>) by January 31.<br>​</p>Bicycle Commuter Program Policy – Annual Report Reminder for Non-CalATERS Departments12/2/2021 8:00:00 AM
<p>The <a href="https://511.org/sites/default/files/pdfs/cbp/Program_Overview.pdf" title="Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program (Program)">Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program (Program)</a> applies to all affected agencies and departments in the nine San Francisco Bay Area counties (Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, and Sonoma).<br> <br>In order to comply with the Program requirements, all affected departments should electronically submit the following completed documents to CalHR at <a href="mailto:ppsdtempops@sco.ca.gov">travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov</a> by December 3, 2021.</p><ul><li>Annual Report (submitted on <a href="/Documents/Bay-Area-Commuter-Benefits-Program-Departmental-Report-Template.xlsx" title="CalHR’s Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program Annual Report Template">CalHR’s Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program Annual Report Template</a>).</li><li>Copy of notice to employees (see <a href="/Documents/SAMPLE-Departmental-Commuter-Information-Notice-010319.rtf" title="CalHR’s Sample Notice">CalHR’s Sample Notice</a>.)<br></li></ul><p><a href="/benefits/Pages/Bay-Area-Commuter-Benefits-Program.aspx" title="CalHR’s Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program page">CalHR’s Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program page</a> provides additional information about the steps departments must complete to register and maintain Program compliance.<br> <br>Affected state agencies and departments may contact <a href="mailto:travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov" title="travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov">travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov​</a> for additional clarification.​</p>Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program – Notification, Record Keeping, and Annual Reporting Requirements for Affected Agencies/Departments11/4/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p>Assembly Bill 1887 prohibits state agencies from requiring any of their employees, officers or members to travel to, or approving a request for state-funded or state-sponsored travel to, any state that has enacted discriminatory laws or practices on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression, subject to certain exceptions.<br> <br>Effective September 30, 2021, the Attorney General will add Ohio to the restricted travel list. To view the entire list of banned states, visit the <a href="https://oag.ca.gov/ab1887" title="California Attorney General's website">California Attorney General's website</a>.<br> <br>Previously approved discretionary travel to Ohio must be cancelled. All mission critical travel to banned states must be resubmitted to Department Directors and Agency Secretaries (or their designees) to ensure they meet the exception criteria. New mission critical trips not already submitted within an approved out-of-state travel blanket will require final approval from the Governor's Office through the individual trip request process.<br> <br>For additional information regarding AB 1887 and out-of-state travel, please review <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2201" title=" HR Manual section 2201 – Travel and Relocation Policy​">HR Manual section 2201 – Travel and Relocation Policy​</a>.​​</p>The Attorney General Adds Ohio to the Restricted Travel List for Out-of-State Travel10/5/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p>Departmental personnel offices must provide a second notice that addresses the expiration of the COBRA subsidy premium assistance coverage. This notice must be provided to those assistance eligible individuals (AEIs) no earlier than 45 days before expiration, but no later than 15 days before their premium assistance expires. More information can be found in the May 6, 2021, <a href="/benefits/Documents/COBRA-subsidy-memo-final.pdf" title="View the memorandum">memorandum</a>. Additional details and a link to the Department of Labor guidelines and model notices can be found on the <a href="/benefits/Pages/american-rescue-plan-act-temporary-cobra-subsidy-pandemic-relief.aspx" title="View information regarding American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Temporary COBRA Subsidy Pandemic Relief and Guidelines">CalHR website​</a>.​</p>American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Temporary Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) Premium Subsidy Pandemic Relief - Reminder9/16/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p>​<span style="font-size:1em;">​The California Department of Human Resources is increasing the Universal Administrative Fee by $0.54 per pay period for each employee who has dental, vision, or a pre-tax deduction under the state’s flexible benefit plan. The Universal Administrative Fee also includes the departmental assessment for the Merit Award Program, Dependent Re-Verification, Statewide Wellness Program, Other Post-Employment Benefits (OPEB), the Affordable Care Act, and Benefits Administration Manual (BAM) training.</span></p><p>The current rate of $1.58 per person per month will increase to $2.12 per month per employee effective October 1, 2021, pursuant to the Budget Act Control Section 3.50. More information can be found on the <br>​ <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/1426" title="View more information about policy 1426 - Universal Administrative Fees" target="_blank">CalHR website​</a>.<br></p>Increase in Universal Fee8/30/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p>​CalHR is implementing further guidance in the payment and reimbursement process for the temporary Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) subsidy pandemic relief under the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA), in addition to the May 6, 2021, <a href="/benefits/Documents/COBRA-subsidy-memo-final.pdf" title="View the Temporary COBRA Subsidy Pandemic Relief memorandum" target="_blank">memorandum</a>. The memo to departments outlines the processes to remit premiums to carriers for assistance eligible individuals (AEIs) and to receive reimbursement for premium payments. The memo references the Payee Data Record (STD. 204) forms. Each carrier has completed a 204 and they we will be added to the CalHR ARPA page so departments can access them when paying premiums. A CalHR memorandum with additional details and a link to the Department of Labor guidelines and model notices can be found on the <a href="/benefits/Pages/american-rescue-plan-act-temporary-cobra-subsidy-pandemic-relief.aspx" title="View American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Temporary COBRA Subsidy Pandemic Relief and Guidelines for Employee Benefit Plans webpage" target="_blank">CalHR website​</a>. <br>​</p>American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Temporary Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) Premium Subsidy Pandemic Relief Payment and Reimbursement Process8/24/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p>​Effective July 1, 2021, the following mass transit and vanpool subsidy increases apply to eligible employees, including employees headquartered out of state, in Bargaining Units 2 and 12:</p><ul><li>Public transit passes</li><ul><li>75 percent discount on public transit passes sold by state agencies, up to a maximum of $100 per month. This is an increase of up to $35 per month.</li><li>75 percent reimbursement on public transit passes purchased by state employees, up to a maximum of $100 per month. This is an increase of up to $35 per month.</li></ul><li>Vanpool riders</li><ul><li>75 percent reimbursement on the monthly fee, up to a maximum of $100 per month. This is an increase of up to $35 per month.</li></ul><li>Primary vanpool driver</li><ul><li>$135 per month in lieu of the vanpool rider reimbursement. This is an increase of $35 per month.</li></ul></ul><p> California Code of Regulations <a href="https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IF4B90AD05D9711E4A9828577DD5F1BF2?originationContext=Search+Result&listSource=Search&viewType=FullText&navigationPath=Search/v3/search/results/navigation/i0ad62d2e00000164ae837fd14013dc64?startIndex%3d1%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26contextData%3d%28sc.Default%29&rank=1&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=%28sc.Search%29&t_T2=599.936&t_S1=CA+ADC+s" target="_blank">section 599.936 (Transit and Vanpool Incentives – Excluded Employees)</a> provides mass transit and vanpool commute language for excluded employees. The <a href="/state-hr-professionals/Pages/bargaining-contracts.aspx" target="_blank">MOUs</a> provide mass transit and vanpool commute language for represented employees. CalHR’s <a href="/employees/Pages/Commute-Program.aspx" target="_blank">Commute Programs page</a> and <a href="/employees/Pages/mass-transit-and-vanpool-commute-program-frequently-asked-questions.aspx" target="_blank">Frequently Asked Questions page</a>​ provide general information. ​</p>Mass Transit and Vanpool Commute Program – Increased Subsidies for Employees in Bargaining Units 2 and 128/18/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p>The American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 signed by the President on March 11, 2021, allows an employer the option to increases the maximum annual election under Dependent Care Reimbursement Accounts from $5,000 to $10,500. The maximum annual election amount under the state’s FlexElect Dependent Care Reimbursement Account will remain as $5,000 for the 2021 plan year.<br> <br>Information on the FlexElect Reimbursement Account program can be found on the <a href="/benefits-administration-manual-flexelect.aspx">CalHR website</a>​.  ​</p>FlexElect Dependent Care Reimbursement Account Maximum Election under the American Rescue Plan Act 8/18/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p><strong>July19, 2021.</strong> Excess lodging rate requests are required if the requested lodging rate is more than the state rate. All excess lodging rate requests for amounts above the delegated amount of $250 per night continue to require CalHR approval in advance. Departments shall continue to follow their current processes for completing and submitting excess lodging rate requests to CalHR.<br> <br>General Reminders<br></p><ul><li>​Departments shall review whether the requested lodging is in the best interest of the state before submitting requests to CalHR. All moderately priced lodging options are to be considered in order to determine the lodging that is in the best interest of the state. If an employee’s preferred hotel chain is not the lodging that is in the best interest of the state, then the lodging that is in the best interest of the state shall be selected.</li><li>Moderately priced lodging may include 2- and 3-star hotels in Concur.</li><li>Per <a href="https://www.dgs.ca.gov/Resources/ManagementMemos">DGS Management Memo 14-03</a>, all travel is to be booked through <a href="https://www.caltravelstore.com/">CalTravelStore/Concur</a>. It is CalHR’s understanding from DGS that conference rates and short-term rentals are allowable exceptions to booking lodging via CalTravelStore/Concur. Reasonable accommodations may also be allowable exceptions. For additional questions regarding the requirement to book travel via CalTravelStore/Concur, please contact DGS’s Statewide Travel Program at <a href="mailto:statewidetravelprogram@dgs.ca.gov">statewidetravelprogram@dgs.ca.gov</a>.</li><li>Lodging booked outside of Concur due to an allowable exception (such as a conference rate) must be clearly explained in the “justification for alternate booking arrangement” section of the <a href="https://www.documents.dgs.ca.gov/dgs/fmc/pdf/std255c.pdf">Excess Lodging Rate Request Form (STD 255C)</a>.</li><li>The three required comparison quotes must clearly include the requested travel dates (such as a Concur printout or screenshot).</li><li>“Headquarters City” refers to the employee’s headquarters city.</li><li>The current <a href="https://www.documents.dgs.ca.gov/dgs/fmc/pdf/std255c.pdf">Excess Lodging Rate Request Form (STD 255C)</a> has been available since October 2019. As noted in CalHR’s July 11, 2019, HR Announcement, CalHR will not accept requests submitted on outdated versions of the STD 255C.</li><li>Only submit completed forms to CalHR for review. Please include all department contact information and approval signatures.</li><li>State departments are prohibited from requiring any of their employees, officers or members to travel to, or approving a request for state-funded or state-sponsored travel to, any state that has enacted discriminatory laws or practices on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression, subject to certain exceptions. To view the list of banned states, visit the <a href="https://oag.ca.gov/ab1887">California Attorney General's website</a>.</li><li>For rank-and-file employees, departments should review applicable Memoranda of Understanding for specific language governing travel.<br></li></ul>After-the-Fact Requests<br><ul><li>All after-the-fact requests must be submitted to CalHR with three comparison quotes for the requested travel dates (if available) along with an explanation for the late submission.</li><li>CalHR reviews after-the-fact requests on a case-by-case basis.</li></ul> <br>Annual Reports for Delegated Excess Lodging Rate Requests<br><ul><li>The reporting period for annual reports is July 1 – June 30 of each year. All departments who have approved delegated excess lodging rate requests are required to submit their annual reports to <a href="mailto:travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov">travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov</a> by August 31. Each department’s report must include all approved delegated requests. Please include department contact information in the submission email.</li><li>An updated Excel template for annual reports is now available in the “Forms” section of HR Manual section <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2201">2201- Travel and Relocation Policy</a>.</li></ul> <br>Related HR Manual Policy: <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2201">2201- Travel and Relocation Policy​​</a><p></p>Excess Lodging Rate Requests and Annual Reports - Reminders7/19/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p>Assembly Bill 1887 prohibits state agencies from requiring any of its employees, officers or members to travel to, or approving a request for state-funded or state-sponsored travel to, any state that has enacted discriminatory laws or practices on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression, subject to certain exceptions.<br> <br>The Attorney General is adding the following five states to the restricted travel list. To view the entire list of banned states, visit the <a href="https://oag.ca.gov/ab1887" title="California Attorney General's website">California Attorney General's website​</a>.<br> <br>Florida – Effective July 1, 2021<br>Montana – Effective July 1, 2021<br>West Virginia – Effective July 8, 2021<br>Arkansas – Effective July 29, 2021<br>North Dakota – Effective August 1, 2021<br> <br>Previously approved discretionary travel to these states must be cancelled. All mission critical travel to banned states must be resubmitted to Department Directors and Agency Secretaries (or their designees) to ensure they meet the exception criteria. New mission critical trips not already submitted within an approved out-of-state travel blanket will require final approval from the Governor's Office through the individual trip request process.<br> <br>For additional information regarding AB 1887 and out-of-state travel, please review HR Manual section<a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2201" title="HR Manual section 2201 – Travel and Relocation Policy." target="_blank"> 2201 – Travel and Relocation Policy.​</a>​</p>The Attorney General Adds Five States to the Restricted Travel List for Out-of-State Travel7/13/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p>Effective April 1, 2021, COBRA continuation coverage provides qualified Assistance Eligible Individuals (AEI’s) and their beneficiaries a temporary COBRA premium subsidy pandemic relief for their continued health, dental and vision plan coverage from April 1, 2021 through September 30, 2021. This premium subsidy is 100 percent paid by the employer and the employer is reimbursed via a new Medicare Health Insurance tax credit.<br> <br>An AEI is eligible for the COBRA subsidy if they experience either of the following qualifying events: An involuntary termination of employment (other than for gross misconduct) or a<br>reduction in hours, which causes an individual to lose employer health, dental or vision plan eligibility. Departments must inform all AEI’s of the availability of the COBRA subsidy premium assistance.<br> <br>Department of Labor guidelines and model notices can be found on the CalHR website​</p>American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Temporary Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) Premium Subsidy5/24/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p>​CalHR is implementing provisions under the FlexElect Reimbursement Account program providing relief options for employees. These provisions are in accordance with the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2021 and new IRS guidelines. These provisions are:</p><p></p><ul><li>Grace Period Extensions – The grace period will be extended under the 2020 and 2021 plan years for both the Medical Reimbursement Accounts and Dependent Care Reimbursement accounts until December 31 of the following year. This will allow employees to continue to incur expenses and utilize funds remaining in their accounts.</li><ul><li>2020 Grace Period – Extended to December 31, 2021</li><li>2021 Grace Period – Extended to December 31, 2022</li></ul><li>Claims Filing Extensions – The claims filing deadlines will also be extended due to the grace period extensions. These deadlines will be extended to June 30 of the following year.</li><ul><li><span style="font-size:1em;">2</span><span style="font-size:1em;">020 Claims Filing Deadline – Extended to June 30, 2022</span></li><li><span style="font-size:1em;">2021 Claims Filing Deadline – Extended to June 30, 2023</span></li></ul><li> Medical Reimbursement Account Eligibility Continuation for Mid-Year Cancellations – Employees who cancelled or will cancel their Medical Reimbursement Accounts in 2020 or 2021 will be eligible to incur expenses after their cancellation date and through the applicable grace period. In no event will an employee be eligible for reimbursements exceeding the amount they contributed. Dependent Care Reimbursement Account participants are already eligible to continue to incur expenses through the grace period.</li><li>Carry Forward Rule for Dependent Care Reimbursement Accounts –</li><li>Mid-Year Election Change – Medical Reimbursement Account and Dependent Care Reimbursement Account participants will be allowed to make a one-time prospective election change during the 2021 plan year without a permitting event.</li></ul><p></p><p>Department’s personnel offices are to communicate these options to their employees. Additional information including processing guidelines and sample employee communications can be found on the <a href="/state-hr-professionals/Pages/benefits-administration-manual-flexelect.aspx" target="_blank">CalHR website</a>​.  ​</p>Employee Relief Under the FlexElect Reimbursement Accounts Program 3/29/2021 7:00:00 AM
<p>​Effective May 1, 2018, CalHR implemented the Bicycle Commuter Program (Program). Through the Program, the State of California voluntarily provides a taxable benefit to eligible state employees. The Program encourages employees to consider bicycle commuting as a means of active transportation. </p><p>As a reminder, the HR Manual <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/1425" target="_blank">section 1425 – Bicycle Commuter Program</a> requires non-CalATERS departments to complete and electronically submit the <a href="/Documents/Bicycle-Commuter-Benefit-Program-Report-Template.xlsx" target="_blank">Bicycle Commuter Benefit Program Report</a> for the previous calendar year to CalHR (<a href="mailto:Travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov" target="_blank">Travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov</a>) by January 31.</p>Bicycle Commuter Program Policy – Annual Report Reminder for Non-CalATERS Departments1/25/2021 8:00:00 AM
<p>​For 2021, the monthly limit for a <a href="/employees/Pages/pre-tax-parking-reimbursement-account-program-.aspx">Third Party Pre-Tax Parking Reimbursement Account Program</a> deduction from an employee's income to pay for qualified parking will be $270. This amount is a continuation of the monthly limit in effect for 2020. </p>2021 Monthly Deduction Amount for the Third Party Pre-Tax Parking Reimbursement Account Program1/25/2021 8:00:00 AM
<p>​Effective January 1, 2021, the <a href="/employees/Pages/travel-reimbursements.aspx">personal vehicle mileage reimbursement rate</a> for all state employees is 56 cents per mile. </p><p>The relocation/moving mileage reimbursement rate for all current state employees and new-hires to state service is 16 cents per mile.</p><p>Related HR Manual Policy: <a href="http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2202">2202 - Mileage Reimbursement</a></p>2021 Mileage Reimbursement Rates for Use of Personal Vehicle1/11/2021 8:00:00 AM
<p>​Employees are currently permitted to make a one-time mid-year enrollment change to their MRA and/or DCRA elections for the 2020 plan year. Employees may enroll, cancel or change their MRA and/or DCRA election without a qualifying permitting event on a prospective basis only. The last effective date for the 2020 plan year is December 1, 2020. The State Controller’s Office must receive the employee’s completed <a href="https://www.documents.dgs.ca.gov/dgs/fmc/pdf/std701R.pdf" target="_blank">STD 701R – Reimbursement Account Enrollment Authorization </a>no later than November 10, 2020 in order to have an effective date of December 1, 2020. <br>The minimum contribution to keep a MRA and/or DCRA active is $10 per month. An employee must keep their MRA and/or DCRA active to be eligible for the grace period and incur claims until March 15, 2021. Any employees who previously cancelled or reduced their election to $0 will have until November 30, 2020, to amend their prior election to the minimum amount if they wish to do so. Employees who do not amend their prior elections will only be eligible to incur expenses until the cancellation effective date for the MRA or until December 31, 2020 for the DCRA.<br>More information is available under the<a href="/state-hr-professionals/Pages/national-emergency-relief-guidelines-employee-benefit-plans.aspx" target="_blank"> National Emergency Relief and Guidelines for Employee Benefit Plans</a>. <br>The one-time mid-year election opportunity is not extended into the 2021 plan year at this time. Employees will need to experience a qualified permitting event in order to make election changes in 2021 including: </p><ul><li>DCRA Only – Change in dependent care provider (e.g. a provider opens/closes) </li><li>DCRA Only – Change in dependent care costs (e.g. an employee increases or decreases care based on work schedule) </li><li>MRA and DCRA – Change in employee eligibility that is a result of a reduction of hours (e.g. an employee's work schedule is reduced to less than half-time)</li></ul><p>These are common permitting events but are not an exhaustive list. You may refer to the<a href="/Documents/bam-flexelect-appendix-a-permitting-event-codes-date-chart.pdf"> FlexElect Program Permitting Event Codes/Dates Chart </a>for additional permitting events.<br>Additionally, IRS guidelines currently prohibit retroactive election changes or refunds of remaining balances in an MRA and/or DCRA for the 2020 plan year. CalHR is diligently tracking IRS announcements and will release an HR Announcement if there is any change to CalHR policy. </p>2020 FlexElect Medical Reimbursement Account (MRA) and Dependent Care Reimbursement Account (DCRA) Program Reminders11/9/2020 8:00:00 AM
<p>​The <a href="https://511.org/sites/default/files/pdfs/cbp/Program_Overview.pdf" target="_blank">Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program (Program)</a> applies to all affected agencies and departments in the nine San Francisco Bay Area counties (Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, and Sonoma). </p><p> In order to comply with the Program requirements, all affected departments should electronically submit the following completed documents to CalHR at travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov by November 20, 2020:</p><ul><li>Annual Report (submitted on <a href="https://calhr.ca.gov/Documents/Bay-Area-Commuter-Benefits-Program-Departmental-Report-Template.xlsx" target="_blank">CalHR's Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program Annual Report Template</a>). </li><li>Copy of notice to employees (see <a href="https://calhr.ca.gov/Documents/SAMPLE-Departmental-Commuter-Information-Notice-010319.rtf" target="_blank">CalHR's Sample Notice</a>.)</li></ul><p> <a href="/benefits/Pages/Bay-Area-Commuter-Benefits-Program.aspx" target="_blank">CalHR's Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program page</a> provides additional information about the steps departments must complete to register and maintain Program compliance. </p><p> </p><p>Affected state agencies and departments may contact <a href="mailto:travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov" target="_blank">travelmanager@calhr.ca.gov</a> for additional clarification.</p>Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program – Notification, Record Keeping, and Annual Reporting Requirements for Affected Agencies/Departments10/29/2020 7:00:00 AM

Supporting Page
Link Back to Top