print logo
Main Content Anchor

IT Cybersecurity Non-Traditional Apprenticeship Program

​The IT Cybersecurity non-traditional apprenticeship program provides state employees at participating departments with the instruction, training and experience necessary to qualify for the Information Technology Specialist I classification exams. The program is up to two years in duration and is comprised of on-the-job training (OJT) along with college instruction. Apprentice’s OJT tasks can include configuring tools and technologies to detect, mitigate and prevent potential threats, maintaining and managing technology resources, and reviewing network data to identify suspicious activity.​
Participating Departments

These departments are participating in the upcoming IT Cybersecurity Apprenticeship program:

  • California Health and Human Services Agency  
  • Department of General Services  
  • Department of Managed Health Care  
  • Department of Motor Vehicles  
  • Department of Rehabilitation  
  • Department of Technology  
  • Franchise Tax Board  
  • State Fund​
​Cohort Dates

Cohort 1 - ​Sep. 2021​ - Aug. 2022​

Supporting Page
Link Back to Top