You are now leaving this website and being directed to the specific California government resource or website that you have requested. CalHR accepts no responsibility for the content or accessibility of external websites or external documents linked to on this website.
These guidelines apply to all training offered by CalHR Statewide Training.
Government Code 19995.1.5 authorizes CalHR to provide training programs to any public employee or officer. We cannot provide training to non-profits or private citizens.
For purposes of this subdivision, “public employee or officer” means any employee or officer of any of the following:
(1) The state, regardless of whether the employee or officer is subject to state civil service.(2) A city.(3) A county.(4) A special district, or any other political subdivision of the state.(5) The California State University.(6) The University of California.(7) The Legislature.(8) The judicial branch.(9) The federal government.
(1) The state, regardless of whether the employee or officer is subject to state civil service.
(2) A city.
(3) A county.
(4) A special district, or any other political subdivision of the state.
(5) The California State University.
(6) The University of California.
(7) The Legislature.
(8) The judicial branch.
(9) The federal government.
Cancellations and rescheduling must be done at least 5 business days in advance of the training date. As well, we do not allow makeups/cancellations for classes missed due to illness.
Cancellations should be processed through your account in CalLearns.
Rescheduling can be done by notifying Statewide Training via email: Training@calhr.ca.gov.
Our policy is necessary to keep our class costs as low as possible to state departments since we are a reimbursable division and must pay vendors for each registered spot in a class regardless of the employee's or substitute employee’s attendance. Therefore, to pay these invoices, costs for registrations must be accounted for by charging departments.
CalHR will attempt to provide at least five business days' notice prior to cancelling/rescheduling a class. If feasible, we will attempt to transfer students to a later date of this course, subject to the student’s availability.
If a student cannot attend their registered training, they can send another employee from the same department as a substitute.
Employee substitutions can be made only within 5 business days of the class start date. If a substitution is within this period, please email the CalHR Statewide training at Training@calhr.ca.gov at least 1 business day before the start of the class.
If the employee substitute requires a reasonable accommodation, please provide notice as soon as possible and CalHR Statewide Training will do everything it can to provide the accommodation.
Substitutions are not allowed if a class is more than 5 business days out; please follow the procedure to Withdraw from Training.
If a course shows zero (0) seats available, you can still register in the class. Since there are limited seats available in classes, the LMS confirms enrollments on a “first approved” basis. If the request is approved then the employee will be placed in the waitlist queue awaiting possible future cancellations and an email notification will be sent to the employee.
If a spot opens up at least 5 business days before a class, and you are next in line on the waitlist, you will automatically be registered in the class and will receive an email with notification. If a spot does not open up at least 5 business days before the class start date, your waitlist registration will be removed and your department will not be charged. There is no notification of waitlist removal.
If you are on the waitlist currently, and wish to register in a different date of this course, you will need to contact Training@calhr.ca.gov to be removed from the waitlist prior to a new registration in the course.
who miss 15 minutes or more of class, regardless of the reason, will not
receive a completion certificate and their department will be charged the
full amount of the course registration, unless preauthorized due to a Reasonable
Accommodation by CalHR Statewide Training.
CalHR Statewide Training requests a minimum of three (3) weeks' notice for Reasonable Accommodation requests, and will do its best to accommodate students within the three (3) week window. Reasonable Accommodation requests should be denoted within the registration process, then you will receive an email from the Training Operations team for clarification upon approved enrollment.
ASL interpretationClosed CaptioningLarge font materialsMaterials in advance of the class*
*Some classes will not provide materials due to the proprietary nature/and the rights for owning/sharing the documentation. We ask that vendors make this accommodation where it can be granted, but is not guaranteed. If the Materials are sent, it can be only used by the student requesting the Reasonable Accommodation and cannot be duplicated, redistributed, or retaught by any person in any way shape, or form.
Courses are not free for State employees since CalHR Statewide Training is a reimbursable division. Your department is charged via invoice for all cost-based courses in CalLearns. Invoices will be paid either through Direct Transfer or Non-Direct Transfer.
Direct Transfer billing applies to state agencies paying invoices via the State Controller’s Office’s (SCO) Direct Transfer process. No other forms of payment are accepted for employees covered by Direct Transfer.
By approving a course within CalLearns, the department agrees to allow us to initiate a transaction request to the SCO allowing transfer of funds from your agency to CalHR. We have simplified the process; the only information needed is Division name or code and the employee’s supervisor/training coordinator’s contact information. This information will be inputted by the approver at the time of registration approval. Invoices will be sent to the department’s accounting division the month following the course start date. An example of the Direct Transfer window is shown in Figure 1.
Non-Direct transfer billing applies if you are a state employee in a department not paid through the State Controller's Office or any other civil-service employee. Payment can be made through either a credit card, check, or a P-Card, subject to your department’s policies. An example of the Non-Direct Transfer windows are shown in Figure 2 and Figure 3.
An invoice is available for download to the listed approver via email once the class registration is approved. An itemized Invoice will be sent to the department’s accounting division the month following the course start date.
Credit Card / P-CardPlease email CalHR Accounts Receivable at Accounts.Receivable@calhr.ca.gov with your contact information as well as the employee(s) name and class title(s) to make a credit card/P-Card payment. A receipt, if requested, will be provided via email after payment is processed by CalHR’s accounting division. CheckPlease mail checks to CalHR with either an attached copy of the training class confirmation email or a separate paper denoting the employee(s) name and class title(s). Checks are to be made out to: California Department of Human Resources.Mail checks to the following address:
Please email CalHR Accounts Receivable at Accounts.Receivable@calhr.ca.gov with your contact information as well as the employee(s) name and class title(s) to make a credit card/P-Card payment. A receipt, if requested, will be provided via email after payment is processed by CalHR’s accounting division.
Please mail checks to CalHR with either an attached copy of the training class confirmation email or a separate paper denoting the employee(s) name and class title(s). Checks are to be made out to: California Department of Human Resources.
Mail checks to the following address:
CalHR Accounts Receivable
1515 S Street, North Building, Suite 500
Sacramento, California 95811-7258