print logo
Main Content Anchor

State HR Professionals

Group of business professionals smiling.

​General Links




<p>​You can now access the “Additional Exempt & Excluded Classifications Prefunding OPEB with a Bargaining Unit” and “Seasonal Classifications Not Subject to OPEB” documents from the Other Post-Employment Benefits (OPEB) link under the Benefits Administration tab of the CalHR State HR Professionals page. These documents were previously in the HR Net.</p>OPEB-Related Documents2/20/2020 8:00:00 AM
<p>In an effort to ensure that prospective employees have the necessary materials to make an informed employment decision, <a href="" target="_blank">Assembly Bill 1033</a> enacted <a href="" target="_blank">Government Code 19057.2</a> effective January 1, 2020. This Government Code requires an Appointing power to provide an applicant with an explanation of benefits such as a summary of the applicable civil service position; associated salary ranges; benefits afforded to CalPERS membership; and benefits and protections provided by the State Civil Service Act, prior to an offer of employment.</p><p><br>A formal offer of employment shall include written memorialization to document acknowledgement that said materials were received prior to accepting employment. This is a requirement of job offers to both current and prospective employees. </p><p><br>It is department-discretion on the method of distribution and memorialization of the required materials. </p><p><br>CalHR has created a <a title="Benefits Summary" href="/Pages/California-State-Civil-Service-Employee-Benefits-Summary.aspx" target="_blank">Benefits Summary </a>web page that can be linked to your Job bulletins or printed for distribution. Departments are responsible for including additional benefits specific to the position. </p><p><br>The CalHR ECOS team is working on a solution to make the Benefits Summary page standard on all announcements in the near future. ​</p>California State Civil Service Employee Benefits Summary2/20/2020 8:00:00 AM
<p>​Effective October 31, 2019, the following mass transit and vanpool subsidy increases apply to eligible employees, including employees headquartered out of state, in SEIU bargaining units 1, 3, 4, 11, 14, 15, 17, 20, and 21 and bargaining unit 9:</p><ul><li>Public transit passes</li><ul><li>75% discount on public transit passes sold by state agencies, up to a maximum of $100 per month. This is an increase of up to $35 per month.</li><li>75% reimbursement on public transit passes purchased by state employees, up to a maximum of $100 per month. This is an increase of up to $35 per month.</li></ul><li>Vanpool riders</li><ul><li>75% reimbursement on the monthly fee, up to a maximum of $100 per month. This is an increase of up to $35 per month.</li></ul><li>Primary vanpool driver</li><ul><li> $135 per month in lieu of the vanpool rider reimbursement. This is an increase of $35 per month.</li></ul></ul><p>California Code of Regulations <a title="section 599.936 (Transit and Vanpool Incentives – Excluded Employees)" href="" target="_blank">section 599.936 (Transit and Vanpool Incentives – Excluded Employees)</a> provides mass transit and vanpool commute language for excluded employees. The <a title="MOUs " href="/state-hr-professionals/Pages/bargaining-contracts.aspx" target="_blank">MOUs</a> provide mass transit and vanpool commute language for represented employees. CalHR’s <a href="/employees/Pages/Commute-Program.aspx">Commute Programs page</a> and <a title="Frequently Asked Questions page" href="/employees/Pages/mass-transit-and-vanpool-commute-program-frequently-asked-questions.aspx" target="_blank">Frequently Asked Questions page</a> provide general information. </p><p>The State Controller’s Office will notify departments when the CalATERS Vanpool Driver expense code has been updated. CalATERS departments may need to manually process Vanpool Driver payments until the expense code update is completed.</p>Mass Transit and Vanpool Commute Program – Increased Subsidies for SEIU Represented Employees and BU 9 Employees2/19/2020 8:00:00 AM

For previous announcements, please visit our HR Announcements page.

Main Page
Link Back to Top