print logo
Main Content Anchor

Merit Award Board Members

The Merit Award Board consists of five members who are responsible for reviewing suggestions:

  • Adopted by more than one state agency;
  • When cash awards will be greater than $5,000; or
  • When there is disagreement between the Suggester and state agency which cannot be resolved by the agency or Merit Award Program.

The Board members make their recommendations to the Director of CalHR through the Staff to the Board. Awards over $5,000 are submitted to the Legislature for subsequent approval.   

Board Members


  • Belinda Collins, Chief
    Benefits Division
    California Department of Human Resources


  • Kimberly A. Malm, Division Chief
    Operations Support Services Division
    Public Employees Retirement System (PERS)

  • Eric Stern, Assistant Program Budget Manager
    Employee Compensation, Retirement Systems, and Information Technology Operations and Consulting
    Department of Finance

  • Sara Sepulveda, Manager, Employee and Administrative Services Unit
    Department of Motor Vehicles

  • Lucinda Ward, Regional Vice President
    Vision Service Plan (VSP)
    Public Member

Staff to the Board

  Updated: 9/13/2016
One Column Page
Link Back to Top