Retiree Vision Program
As a State of California retiree or annuitant, you are eligible to enroll in the State Retiree Vision Program, which is offered through Vision Service Plan (VSP).
The Retiree Vision Program provides vision care coverage for you and your eligible dependents.
When you retire your personnel office must be provide you with two options: First, under Federal Law, you MUST be offered COBRA continuation for the State active employee vision coverage and you must also be given the option to enroll into the Retiree Vision Program.
Open enrollment is a time set aside each year when eligible employees can enroll, or add/delete family members. The open enrollment period for the Retiree Vision Program is normally held each year during the fall.
The effective date for actions made during open enrollment will be January 1st of the following year.
Once enrolled you will be required to remain in the program for a minimum of 12 months.
How to enroll:
- Call VSP at 1-800-877-7195 and speak with a Member Services Representative; or,
- Complete and submit form CalHR-695.
Mail enrollment forms to:
Attn: Client Services - Mailstop 229
P.O. Box 997100
Sacramento, CA 95899-7100
Fax forms to:
To make changes to your existing coverage:
The amount deducted from your retirement check each month in 2013 for the Retiree Vision care is:
- Retiree only: $7.53
- Retiree plus one dependent: $14.62
- Retiree plus two or more dependents: $15.73
VSP Contact Information
If you have any additional questions regarding the State's Retiree Vision Program, please contact VSP at 1-800-877-7195.
Frequently Asked Questions
When will annuitants receive open enrollment and benefit information?
- State of California retirees and annuitants receive open enrollment materials in September for the annual open enrollment period in October.
- All current State of California retirees and annuitants receive a VSP mailing including: an announcement letter, a VSP plan brochure including coverage details, premiums, and an enrollment form
How will annuitants enroll in the VSP plan?
During open enrollment annuitants may enroll by choosing one of these three convenient options:
- Visit VSP at www.vsp.com/go/stateofca and complete the online enrollment form, or
- Call VSP at 1-800-877-7195 and speak with a Member Services Representative, or
- Complete and mail the VSP Enrollment Form included in their mailing
When is the plan effective?
- The plan is effective January 1 of the following year
How long does the plan provide annuitants with coverage?
- Annuitants who enroll into the plan during the open enrollment period have continuous benefit coverage year after year
- Annuitants' benefit coverage automatically continues, unless they cancel during an open enrollment period
Will annuitants be automatically enrolled in the plan?
- No - annuitants must proactively enroll in the VSP plan during open enrollment period
What benefits does the plan cover?
Benefit coverage is as follows:
- Exams - covered in full every calendar year
- Prescription glasses - covered every calendar year
- Lenses - covered in full including single vision, lined bifocal, lined trifocal and tinted lenses, including photochromic (lenses that transition)
- Frames - frame of your choice covered up to $75 retail
- Contact Lens Care - covered every calendar year
- When you choose contacts instead of glasses, your $110 allowance applies to the cost of your eye exam, contacts and the contact lens exam (fitting and evaluation). This exam is in addition to your vision exam to ensure proper fit or contacts.
EXTRA Discounts and Savings
- Laser Vision Correction Discounts
Average 15% discount from contracted VSP Laser VisionCare facilities
- Contacts (available from any VSP doctor)
15% off cost of contact lens exam (fitting and evaluation)
What are the plan premiums?
Premiums vary depending on which plan tier the annuitant chooses Annuitants will have three plan tiers to choose from:
- Member only - $7.53
- Member + 1- $14.62
- Member + Family - $ 15.73
How are annuitants billed for their VSP plan?
- The cost of the annuitants' premium is deducted directly from their state retirement warrant
- VSP directly bills annuitants who have been identified by the state as "direct bill only"
Will the plan also cover annuitants' dependents?
- Yes - Eligible dependents may also be covered
What information do annuitants have to provide to enroll dependents?
- Annuitants must provide each dependent's name, date of birth, and state the dependent's relationship to the enrolled annuitant
- Dependent children age 26 and under are eligible for benefits
Are annuitants able to enroll in the plan after open enrollment?
- Annuitants who do not enroll during open enrollment are able to enroll during the next open enrollment period
Once enrolled can annuitants cancel their plan coverage?
- Annuitants may cancel their plan during an annual open enrollment period if they have met their 12-month minimum enrollment period
- The cancellation is effective January 1 of the following year
- Annuitants may also only cancel their plan coverage during a qualifying COBRA event or a qualifying life change event
Are domestic partners eligible for plan coverage?
- Yes - registered domestic partners are eligible dependents
Are disabled dependents eligible for plan coverage?
- Yes - registered disabled dependents are eligible
Are California State University (CSU) members eligible for State of CA annuitant plan?
- No - only State of California (non-CSU) annuitants and eligible dependents may in enroll in this plan
- Please contact your personnel office for additional information and to express interest in obtaining a VSP eye care plan
If annuitants enroll during the open enrollment period, will their premiums change in the following year?
- No - premiums remain the same until through December 31st of the following year
Can annuitants be enrolled in multiple plans?
- Yes - an annuitant can enroll in the plan and also be enrolled in another vision plan
Can annuitants add dependents after open enrollment?
- Annuitants may add dependents after open enrollment only if a family status change (permitting event) as defined by the state has occurred
- If a family status change has not occurred, annuitants may add dependents during the next open enrollment period the following year
Will annuitants have to re-enroll in their VSP plan during the fall open enrollment?
- No - all annuitants enrolled during the open enrollment period will have continuous benefit coverage
Will annuitants have to renew their benefit coverage after December 31st?
- For convenience, at the end of the 12-month period, all annuitants automatically have their benefit coverage continued unless they specifically elect not to renew during the next open enrollment period
Why are there two VSP Web sites?
- For convenience and to provide state of CA annuitants with several enrollment options, annuitants may visit www.vsp.com/go/stateofca to enroll in a VSP plan
- Once the annuitant's benefit coverage becomes effective, they may log-on to vsp.com to view their benefits, check eligibility, and gain access to numerous helpful tools and valuable resources
What is an Enrollment I.D.?
- The Enrollment I.D. is a unique identifier assigned to each state of CA annuitant during open enrollment
- The identifier allows VSP to quickly retrieve the annuitant's information