
STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

California Department of Human Resources 
Memorandum 

 

TO:  Personnel Management Liaisons (PML) 
SUBJECT: 
Lactation Accommodation 
 

REFERENCE NUMBER: 
2016-017 
 

DATE ISSUED: 
June 15, 2016 
 

SUPERSEDES: 
2002-004 
 

 

 This memorandum should be forwarded to: 
 
 Personnel Officers 
 Employee Relations Officers 
 Transactions Supervisors 
 

FROM: California Department of Human Resources 
 Personnel Management Division 
 
 CONTACT: Personnel Services Branch 
 (916) 323-3343 
 Fax:  (916) 327-1886 
 Email:  PSB@calhr.ca.gov 
 

The purpose of this memorandum is to remind departments of the provisions in the 
California Labor Code sections 1030 through 1033, and of the amendments to section 7 
of the Fair Labor Standards Act, brought about by the Patient Protection and Affordable 
Care Act in March 2010.  These provisions require employers to provide a reasonable 
amount of break time and an appropriate location to accommodate an employee 
desiring to express breast milk for the employee’s infant child.  
 
In continued support of a family friendly work environment and to facilitate the expedient 
and successful return of employees to work, departments are encouraged to develop or 
review existing lactation accommodation guidelines to ensure they are flexible, 
accommodating, and in compliance with current California and federal laws.  
 
The statutes require that the time allotted for the purpose of expressing breast milk run 
concurrently with any break time already provided to the employee, if possible. 
Typically, a lactating woman will need approximately 15 to 30 minutes for each session 
and they may occur every 2 to 3 hours.  Frequency and duration will vary.  While the 
routine break times provided may be sufficient for some women to complete the 
process, others may need additional time.  Although law does not require employers to 
allow employees to extend their workday (i.e., begin work earlier or end work later) to 
make up for unpaid break time used for expressing breast milk, departments are 
encouraged to provide flexible scheduling for those employees who choose to make up 
for any unpaid break time. 
 
The statutes further require employers to provide the employee with the use of a room 
or other location in which to express breast milk. The room or location must be in close 
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proximity to the employee’s work area, other than a restroom, and must be shielded 
from view and free from intrusion by coworkers and the public.  The room or location 
where the employee normally works may be used for this purpose if it otherwise meets 
the requirements. 
 
Examples of workplace spaces which may be appropriate include a vacant office, a 
woman’s lounge area, a first aid room, a dressing room, or a room or office space which 
can be made available during specific times of the day for this purpose.  To facilitate 
privacy, a lock may be added to the door or a sign may be posted on the entrance 
indicating the room is in use.  
 
Lastly, California law provides that an employer who violates the provisions of this 
statute may be subject to a $100 civil penalty for each violation. 
 
For questions related to this PML, state department personnel office designated liaisons 
should contact CalHR’s Personnel Services Branch by emailing questions to 
PSB@calhr.ca.gov or calling (916) 323-3343. 
 
/s/Bryan Baldwin 
 
Bryan Baldwin, Chief 
Personnel Management Division 
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