print logo
Main Content Anchor

Holidays

Employee Designation:  Manager, Supervisor, Confidential, and Excluded

References:  Govt. Code 19853 and 19854

  • Monday, January 1 New Year’s Day
  • Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Monday, February 19 Presidents’ Day
  • Saturday, March 31 Cesar Chavez Day*
  • Monday, May 28 Memorial Day
  • Wednesday, July 4 Independence Day
  • Monday, September 3 Labor Day
  • Monday, November 12 Veterans Day (observed)**
  • Thursday, November 22 Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday, November 23 Day after Thanksgiving
  • Tuesday, December 25 Christmas Day

 *When a holiday falls on a Saturday, employees shall receive holiday credit.

**When a holiday falls on a Sunday, the holiday is observed on the following Monday.

In addition to the holidays listed, excluded employees receive one personal holiday per fiscal year.

To be eligible for a personal holiday, an employee must be: (a) appointed to a class that requires a probationary period; (b) appointed to an exempt position where leave credits are earned; or (c) appointed to a Career Executive Assignment (CEA) position for more than six months.  Once eligible employees complete six months of their initial probationary period, they are credited with a personal holiday for the current fiscal year.  Thereafter, the personal holiday is credited on July 1 of each year.

  Updated: 7/28/2016
One Column Page
Link Back to Top