California Department of Human Resources
Memorandum

TO: Personnel Management Liaisons (PML)

SUBJECT: REFERENCE NUMBER:
Bar Association Dues Reimbursement 2015-032

DATE ISSUED: SUPERSEDES:
November 20, 2015 2014-048

This memorandum should be forwarded to:

Personnel Officers

Accounting Officers

Employee Relations Officers
Travel and Relocation Liaisons

FROM: California Department of Human Resources
Labor Relations Division

CONTACT: Pam Manwiller, Deputy Director of Labor Relations
(916) 323-7995
Fax: (916) 322-0765
Email: pam.manwiller@calhr.ca.gov

This memorandum describes the amount the state will pay or reimburse employees
towards the 2016 State Bar membership dues, and related provisions. This PML
supersedes 2014-048. The State Bar’s deadline for payment of 2016 membership dues
is February 1, 2016.

1. How much of the 2016 dues will the state pay?

Departments are required to pay $380 of the 2016 State Bar membership fee of $430
for employees in Bargaining Unit 2 and affiliated excluded employees if State Bar
membership is required as a condition of employment.

The state does not pay:

e The $10 portion that funds the State Bar’s Legislative Activity ($5) and Bar
Relations and Elimination of Bias ($5) with voluntary bar associations, lines 21
and 22 of the State Bar coupon,;

e The $40 contribution for the Legal Services Assistance option, line 23 of the
State Bar coupon,;

e Optional donations to the Conference of Delegates of California Bar

Associations, Foundation of the State Bar, or the California Supreme Court
Historical Society; nor
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e Penalties resulting from late payment of dues, unless the state is responsible for
the late payment.

For employees who work less than full time, or less than one year, the department may
prorate the reimbursement.

2. Will the state pay local or specialty bar dues?

The state will pay up to $100 annually for job-related local or specialty bar dues, if State
Bar membership is required as a condition of employment. The employee may be
reimbursed for more than one local or specialty bar as long as the total reimbursement
does not exceed $100.

Excluded employees may be reimbursed for job-related local or specialty bar dues at
the discretion of the department. In such cases, the department also determines the
reimbursable amount. The department may prorate the amount for employees working
less than full time.

3. What if State Bar membership is not required as a condition of employment?

For rank-and-file employees in Bargaining Unit 2 who are not required to be members
of the State Bar as a condition of employment, the department may provide one of the
following:

a. Reimbursement of the $380 portion of State Bar dues described in Question 1
(the reimbursable amount for an “inactive” membership would be $155); or

b. Two (2) Professional Development Days (PDD), per Unit 2, Memorandum of
Understanding, Article Xlll, Section 13.7., B.

Option “a” is available only for employees who are eligible to be State Bar members.
Unit 2 employees who are not attorneys are entitled to only option “b”.

The department may prorate PDD for employees who work less than full time and/or
less than a full year.

PDD must be requested and approved in the same manner as vacation or annual leave.
4. What are the methods of reimbursing or paying bar dues?

Direct payment: The department may pay membership fees directly to the State Bar,
following the procedures outlined below. However, use the reimbursement method
(described in the Reimbursement section below), not direct payment, for employees
choosing to pay any optional fees (itemized on lines 19-23 of the membership dues
statement).
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a. No later than January 11, 2016 (which is approximately three weeks before the
February 1, 2016 payment deadline), employees must provide the original
remittance (coupon) portion of their membership dues statement to the person
designated by the department to handle payment of bar dues. Lines 19 and 20
must show “0” to indicate that no optional payments are included, and line 21
(“Legislative Activity”) and line 22 (“Bar Relations and Elimination of Bias”) must
show that $5 has been deducted for each of these items. Line 23 (“Legal
Services Assistance”) must show that $40 has been deducted.

b. Departments are to prepare a list of employees for whom the department is
paying State Bar dues, batch the coupons, and prepare one check for dues and
section fees, payable to “California State Bar.” Send the check, list, and batched
coupons together in one envelope addressed to:

State Bar of California

Attention: Membership Services
180 Howard Street

San Francisco, CA 94105-1639

c. If the department receives an employee’s membership dues statement after
January 11, 2016, the department still has the option to pay the dues directly, or
it may reimburse the employee, as described below.

Reimbursement: The Department may reimburse individual employees. Employees
who request reimbursement must include proof of payment, a copy of their annual
membership dues statement, and a copy of their membership card.

5. Are excluded employees entitled to other reimbursement?

Excluded employees are entitled to reimbursement for up to $100 annually for
membership dues of a professional organization or for a job-related professional license
fee that is directly related to the employee’s professional discipline.

6. Where can | find more information on this topic?

The information in this memorandum is based in part on Article 13.7 of the Bargaining
Unit 2 contract and Title 2, sections 599.921 of the California Code of Regulations.

If you have further questions, please contact Pam Manwiller at the phone number or
emalil listed at the top of this memorandum.

/s/Pam Manwiller

Pam Manwiller
Deputy Director of Labor Relations
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