
Sample Interagency Agreement 
 
The California Department of Human Resources (hereafter “CalHR") and the 
Department of ____________________ (hereafter "______"), agree as follows:   
 
Statement of Work 
 
CalHR shall provide to ___________________ the following drug testing program 
services:   
 
• Statewide 24 hours/7 days-a-week urine collection/breath alcohol testing services 

using Evidential Breath Testing devices and trained Breath Alcohol Technicians.   
 
• Laboratory services to perform chemical analyses of urine specimens to determine 

whether a person from whom the specimen was taken has been using certain types 
of drugs and/or alcohol.   

 
• Medical Review Officer services for the review of urine and alcohol test results.   
 
• Expert testimony at appeal or court hearings as required by the State.   
 
• Statewide training and information services for impacted employees, supervisors, 

managers and training for trainers through a system which may include on-site 
training, video cassettes and/or self-study training materials.   

 
• Random selection and notification services for the random testing component of the 

_____________ testing program(s).  (Commercial Driver License, Bargaining Unit 
06, etc.)  (not provided for “state” testing) 

 
• Automated personnel database and recordkeeping system.  (not provided for “state” 

testing) 
 
• Annual management information system report.  (not provided for “state” testing) 
 
• A statewide network of Substance Abuse Professional (SAP) services that provide 

face-to-face SAP services for affected employees of the State of California.  
(optional for “state” testing) 

 
Term of Agreement 
 
The term of this Agreement is ____________________ through 
____________________.   
 



Amount Payable 
 
The total amount payable under this Agreement shall not exceed $__________.   
 
The Department shall pay all of the following fees and charges:   
 
Annual fees:   
 
• An annual fee of up to $105.00 per employee covered by FHWA Regulations 

49 CFR Part 382, et al.  (not charged for “state” testing) 
 
• An annual fee of up to $105.00 per employee covered by USCG Regulations 

46 CFR 16 and 4.  (not charged for “state” testing) 
 
• An annual fee of up to $105.00 per employee covered by the BU06 Random Testing 

Program.  (not charged for “state” testing) 
 
• A fee of up to $40.00 per test for employees covered by DPA Rules 599.960-

599.966 and SPB Rules 213.0-213.6.  (charged for “state” testing) 
  
 
Substance Testing Services:   
 

Comprehensive Drug Testing, Inc. (CDT) – S1150006, Amendment 2 
February 1, 2012 – June 30, 2014 

 
 
Urine Collection Services 
 Standard Rate (Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. PST)  $16.60 
 After Hours (for collection sites whose standard business hours are  $25.00 
  outside 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. PST) 
 After Hours Collections Occurring Outside Standard Business Hours*  $25.00 
  (for collection sites that remain open beyond their standard  
   operating hours to perform urine collections) 
 Holidays/Weekends  $50.00 
 Collections Exceeding Standard Rate**  $80.00 
 
Breath Alcohol Testing Services 
 Standard Rate (Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. PST)  $27.75 
 After Hours (for collection sites whose standard business hours are  $35.00 
  outside 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. PST) 
 After Hours Tests Occurring Outside Standard Business Hours*  $35.00 



  (for collection sites that remain open beyond their standard  
   operating hours to perform breath alcohol tests) 
 Holidays/Weekends/After Hours  $50.00 
 Tests Exceeding Standard Rate**  $80.00 
 
Laboratory Services 
Basic Panel A (Pre-Employment – 6 Substances) – NON DOT 
 Screens  $10.75 
 GC/MS Confirmations    $0.00 
Basic Panel A (6 Substances) – DOT 
 Screens  $10.75 
 GC/MS Confirmations    $0.00 
 6-MAM Tests (run for each specimen)  $12.50 
Basic Panel B (Reasonable Suspicion – 8 Substances) 
 Screens  $10.75 
 GC/MS Confirmations    $0.00 
Basic Panel B (CDCR Reasonable Suspicion/Random  – 8 Substances) 
 Screens  $10.75 
 GC/MS Confirmations    $0.00 
 6-MAM Tests (run for each specimen)  $12.50 
 Ecstasy    $1.00 
Extra Services 
 Blind Specimens    $0.00 
 Flawed Specimens    $0.00 
 Split Specimens  $75.00 
 D/L Isomer Tests  $50.00 
 6-MAM Tests  $12.50 
 Synthetic Opiates***    $1.75 
 Adulteration Screening  $25.00 
 Fee for Consultant/Expert Testimony  $50.00/Hour 
 
Medical Review Officer Services 
Test Review 
 Negative     $2.50 
 Positive     $2.50 
 Fee for Consultant/Expert Testimony
 $150.00/Hour 
 
Mobile/24-Hour Collection Services 
 Breath Alcohol Testing 



  Standard Rate (Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. PST) $120.00 
  Holidays/Weekends $150.00 
 Urine Drug Testing 
  Standard Rate (Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. PST) $120.00 
  Holidays/Weekends/After Hours $150.00 
 Other Fees 
  Waiting Time     
$0.00/Hour 
  Mileage Rate     $0.00/Mile 
 
Training and Informational Services 
 Training (Employee, Supervisor, etc.)    
$25.00/Hour 
 
   * After Hours Collections Occurring Outside Standard Business Hours – This fee is 

for collection sites that are willing to accommodate the State should a delay in the 
collection process occur (e.g. shy bladder) and the collection site is willing to remain 
open to complete the collection process.   

 
 ** This rate allows for collection/testing rates that exceed the Standard Rate when 

additional sites are requested by the State.  Addition of any site which charges 
above the Standard Rate must be approved by the State prior to implementation.   

 
*** The State does not currently test for synthetic opiates.  This rate allows for testing 

rates should these drugs be added to the panel at a later date.   
 
Upon request, the Contractor agrees to provide training regarding drug testing and 
Chain of Custody procedures to designated State employees and/or collection site 
personnel.  This shall be provided at the rate specified by the Contractor in its bid 
proposal which as been incorporated into this Agreement.   
 
Substance Abuse Professional Services:   
 

SAP Referral Services, LLC (SRS) – S1150002 
July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2015 

 
Employee Evaluations $545.00/case 
 (optional for “state” testing) 
Consultant/Expert Testimony Fee $230.00/hour 
 (optional for “state” testing) 
 



Invoicing and Payment for Services 
 
CalHR shall submit invoices monthly, in arrears, to the Department including the 
Department's name, the number of this Agreement, the period of time covered and an 
itemization of charges.  Invoices shall be submitted to: 
 

______________________________ 
______________________________ 
______________________________ 
______________________________ 
______________________________ 

 
The Department shall pay each invoice no later than 30 days after the billing date of that 
invoice.  Each payment shall be accompanied by a statement detailing the amount paid 
against each charge, in addition to the monthly sum paid.  Each payment shall be 
mailed to:   
 

Julie Lowe 
California Department of Human Resources 
Benefits and Training Division 
1515 S Street, North Building, Suite 400 
Sacramento, CA  95811-7258 

 
Failure to provide CalHR with prompt payment, as specified, in this Agreement, may 
result in Department's employees being withheld from a random draw.   
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