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State Disability Insurance 

Mission 
   The California State Disability Insurance Program 

minimizes financial hardships by providing timely 
benefits and services to eligible workers and families 
while supporting California’s economy. 

Vision 

   The State Disability Insurance Branch will be a 
recognized leader and a model of excellence, 
innovation, and integrity. 
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What is SDI?  

• State Disability Insurance (SDI) is a partial, short-

term, wage-replacement insurance plan for California 

workers. 

 

• SDI provides coverage for two program components: 

Disability Insurance provides partial wage 

replacement benefits for up to 52 weeks per claim 

Paid Family Leave provides partial wage 

replacement benefits for up to six weeks (within a 

12-month period) 
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 California is one of six U.S. locations with 
Disability Insurance or Paid Family Leave 

  
 
Hawaii - DI 

 New Jersey – DI, PFL 

 New York - DI 

 Rhode Island - DI 

 The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico -DI 

Disability Insurance 

Which States Have It? 
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Key Points of SDI 

• Provides coverage for 

approximately 13 million 

California workers  

• Provides partial wage replacement of approximately 55% of 

employee’s income 

 

• Requires employees have qualifying wages in the base 

period and be in the labor market when the disability or 

family leave began 
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 Requires a seven day, non-payable waiting period 

for both DI and PFL benefits 

 

 Provides benefits starting on the 8th day 

 

 Requires employees file a timely claim (no later than 

the 49th day after the disability or family leave 

began) 

Key Points of SDI 
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 Allows employees to apply without regard to length 

of employment with their current employer 

 

 Does not provide entitlement to leave nor job 

protection while on leave as does the Family and 

Medical Leave Act and California Family Rights Act 

 
 

 

Key Points of SDI 
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 Individuals who normally work full-time but due to a 

disability or family leave have a reduced work 

schedule, may be eligible to collect State Disability 

Insurance benefits 

 

 Individuals who normally work part-time but are 

suffering a loss of wages resulting from a disability 

or family leave, may be eligible to collect State 

Disability Insurance  

 
 

 

 

 

Can a Claimant Work Part-time?   
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How is SDI Funded?  

 Employees pay into SDI through State-mandated 

payroll deductions      

• 2012 withholding rate of 1.0% 

 

• 2012 taxable wage limit = $95,585 

 

• 2012 maximum yearly employee 

contribution = $955.85 
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Weekly Benefit Amounts (WBA)  

Base period of 12 months considered for calculating maximum and weekly benefit amounts 
  

 

 

1946 2012 

Minimum Weekly 

Benefit Amount 
$10 $50 

Maximum 

Weekly Benefit 

Amount 
$20 $1,011 
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Weekly Benefit Amounts are determined by the Quarter in the base period with 

the highest wages earned.  In this case, the WBA for DI is $663. For PFL, the 

WBA remains the same. (CED = Claim Effective Date) 

$11,180 

 01/11-03/11       04/11-06/11       07/11-09/11     10/11-12/11     01/12-03/12     4/11-6/12 

Base Period Quarters 

$11,180 
$12,249 

$15,657 

CED 

$12,249 

Base Period for WBA 
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State Fiscal Year 2010/2011 
 

DI PFL 

Total claims filed 734,650 204,893 

Average weekly 

benefit amount 
$446 $488 

Total benefits 

authorized 
$4,414,575,335 $498,438,584 

State Disability Insurance 

Data 
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SDI - Employer Responsibilities 

 Provide SDI Brochure to 

employees who are new 

or may need to file a 

claim 

 

 Post EDD ‘Notice to 

Employees’  

 

 Complete and return the 

‘Notice to Employer’ 

within two working days 
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To deter fraud, please respond immediately to the 
Notice to Employer if you are not the employer shown 
or if the claimant: 

 Is not your employee 

 Has quit his/her job 

 Is receiving wages 

 Has not stopped working 

 Is known to be working for another employer 

 Has filed for Workers’ Compensation or is 
believed to be planning to do so 

 Is using a Social Security Number incorrectly 

 Is working under another name 

SDI – Fraud Prevention 
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 Provides wage loss benefits for employees who 

cannot work due to a non-work-related illness or 

injury  

 

 Includes: Elective surgery, alcoholism, drug 

addiction treatment and recovery, pregnancy, 

childbirth or other related conditions 

 

 

Key Points 

Disability Insurance  
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 Requires employees be unable to 

perform their regular or customary 

work 

 

 Requires employees be under the 

care of a physician or practitioner 

 

 Requires certification from the treating 

physician or practitioner of the illness, 

injury or disability 

Key Points 

Disability Insurance  
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• Paid Family Leave (PFL) is a component of State Disability 

Insurance and applies to all employees covered by State 

Disability Insurance (SDI)  

 

• Helps ease the financial burden of a wage loss by providing 

up to six weeks of benefits due to Bonding or Caregiving 

needs 

 

• PFL Benefits are payable at the same rate as DI 

Key Points Paid Family Leave 
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Bonding 

 Requires written proof of the new child such as birth 

certificate, adoption papers, or foster care 

placement document 

Two Basic PFL Claim Types 

• Must be claimed within 12 months of 

the child entering into family 

 

• Child must be under 18 years of age 
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Care 

 To care for seriously ill spouse, registered domestic 

partner, parent, or child 

 

Two Basic PFL Claim Types  

• Requires doctor certification of serious 

illness and a need for care 

 

• Requires the signature of person 

receiving care or his/her authorized 

representative 

 



22 

 Payments are limited to six weeks over a consecutive 

rolling 12-month period 

 

 Mothers transitioning from DI for maternity to PFL for 

bonding benefits do not have to serve a second 

seven day waiting period (considered same claim) 

 

 Employers may require employees to use up to two 

weeks vacation leave before receiving Paid Family 

Leave benefits  

 

Key Points Paid Family Leave 
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How Disability Insurance Differs 

from Paid Family Leave 

 

 

Disability Insurance Paid Family Leave 

Up to 52 weeks per claim Up to six weeks per 12-months 

Employee’s personal illness, 

injury, or disability 

Caring for a seriously ill family 

member or to bond with a new 

child 

Not required to use vacation 

benefits 

Employers may require employees 

to use up to two weeks of vacation 

Vacation pay is not in conflict with 

DI 

Vacation pay conflicts with PFL 

when employer requires employee 

to use 

Benefits are not reportable to IRS 

(unless in lieu of UI) 

Benefits are reportable to IRS 
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SDI Contact Information  

Disability Insurance 

English 

800-480-3287 

Disability Insurance  

Español  

866-658-8846 

Paid Family Leave         

English 

877-238-4373 

Paid Family Leave  

Español  

877-379-3819  
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To Report Fraud 

To report Disability Insurance, Paid Family Leave or 
Unemployment Insurance fraud: 
 

 Submit an online Fraud Reporting Form at  

www.edd.ca.gov 

 Call the EDD Fraud Tip Hotline at 1-800-229-6297 

To report Payroll fraud: 
 

• Submit an online Fraud Reporting Form at www.edd.ca.gov 

• Call 1-800-528-1783 

• Email ueo@edd.ca.gov 

• Fax (916) 227-2772 

• Mail an Underground Economy Operations Form DE 660 
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Go to www.edd.ca.gov/ 

for more  information 

about State Disability 

Insurance 
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Coming Summer 2012 

File DI/PFL Claims Online 

 
 Claimants:  Will be able to securely file 

Disability Insurance and Paid Family Leave 

claims and submit required documentation 

related to their claim online.   
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Coming Summer 2012 

Submit DI/PFL Information Online 

 
 Employers:  Will be able to securely submit 

employee information (wages earned, last day 

worked, etc.) online. 

 

 Physicians/Practitioners:  Will be able to 

securely submit patient information (including 

the information required for the doctor’s 

certification) online. 
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Questions? 


